From the Heart · prayer request · Take Part

Prayer From a Full Heart

Today the sun was shining and the breezy air was unseasonably cool. I took a long walk in Lancaster County farmland with my family, and strolled the sleepy streets of our home town. This evening, Dad grilled vegetables on the porch while Elizabeth filled warm homemade crepes with strawberries and nutella. We sat around our big kitchen table, feasting full of blessings.

It’s my last Saturday at home and I’m soaking in every sunny minute.  But at the same time, my heart is leaping at the thought of leaving in seven days. Every morning I wake up, see my big red suitcase and think “one day closer to Africa!” Soon I’ll be waking up in my mosquito net a continent away.

My heart is growing very very full as the time of departure draws near. Lately, I’ve been praying that my thoughts would not be only for myself, but I would be growing in my love and thoughts for the people of Togo. I’ve been praying that God would shape my heart like His so I would desire His glory more than anything else.

Jesus, be magnified when I feel small. Teach me to decrease so You might increase and expand the territories of my love.

If there is anything I have learned so far, it is the infinite value of prayer. I need it because prayer situates my heart at the throne of grace. It reminds me that it is God who supplies my every need and who is working behind the scenes. Last night, a group of my dear neighbors planned a time of praying for me and my trip. The words of blessing, the heart-felt petitions, and the expressions of faith fell like anointing oil on my soul which so easily becomes overwhelmed by  insecurities and fears. It steadied my inner tumult of emotions.

I’ve never experienced such encouragement as this knowledge that people are praying for me — not because of who I am — but because of God is faithful, God is victorious, God changes hearts and lives, and God is able to work miraculous purposes through the lives of ordinary people. My faith has increased and I know now more than ever that He who has begun a good work in me will be faithful to complete it. When He calls me “Declare his glory among the nations”, He also gives me the strength to go and the words to speak.

Would you pray with me for Jesus to be magnified in the country of Togo? Feel free to save and print this image of the requests I am currently praying for. Check back for updates!

prayercard1

I can’t wait to share with you how God answers our prayers!

…and the smoke of the incense, with the prayers of the saints, rose before God from the hand of the angel. – Revelation 8:4 –

One thought on “Prayer From a Full Heart

  1. Hi Becky,

    I just read your new “scripted by love” which once again was beautiful, and touched my heart.

    I printed the prayer card with requests and will keep it with the Bible I use for my devotions – as a reminder to pray for you.

    Looking forward hopefully to seeing you briefly tomorrow for a goodbye hug -! Not sure if it works ok for me to respond to you this way or not. We’ll see.

    Much love and prayers, Lois and Stan too

    Lois Ginder loisturello@verizon.net

    I will praise the Lord all my life. Psalm 146:2

Leave a Reply

